Lessons learnt – number 2, protection!

IMG_2984

The second lesson I learnt – protect the most precious plants from the wet, wind and salt in the Winter and accept that you’re likely to lose some!

I tried to take cuttings of any shrubs I was attached to, and bought a mini lean-to greenhouse to keep them protected. Quite a few have survived including herbs, pelargoniums and shrubs. I managed to propagate some of the hardy shrubs growing wild nearby too, though they are painfully slow growing so it may be some time before I have a hedge full!

I put all the succulents in the shed, and they seem to be thriving far better than they did outside. I also tried to save seeds so that I could try again with any plants that died

IMG_2989

IMG_2988

As it happens this Winter has not been so bad as the last, though we were hit by some savage wind storms in April/May so it may be a bit early to give a verdict..

Anyway I’ll be careful what goes outside, and will no doubt soon be running out of greenhouse and window ledge space!

 

Leave a Reply

